Manchester Gorton by-election: Eleven candidates confirmed

The late Sir Gerald KaufmanImage copyright

Image caption

Sir Gerald Kaufman represented the seat for more than 30 years

Eleven candidates have been confirmed to run in the Manchester Gorton by-election.

Nominations have closed for the 4 May poll, which follows the death of long-serving Labour MP Sir Gerald Kaufman in February.

Sir Gerald, 86, was the longest-serving MP in Westminster having served the constituency for more than 30 years.

The by-election takes place on the same day as the first election of a mayor for Greater Manchester.

The candidates are:

  • Kemi Abidogun, Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Peter Clifford, Communist League
  • The Irrelevant Johnny Disco, Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Phil Eckersley, UKIP
  • George Galloway, Independent
  • David Michael Hopkins
  • Shaden Jaradat, Conservative
  • Mohammed Afzal Khan, Labour
  • Sufi Miah Khandoker, Independent
  • Jess Mayo, Green Party
  • Jackie Pearcey, Liberal Democrats

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *