Still Game team to receive Scottish Bafta award

Ford Kiernan, Greg Hemphill and Michael Hines

Image copyright
Alan Peebles

Image caption

Stars and writers Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill and director Michael Hines will accept the award

Still Game is to receive a Bafta Scotland award for its “outstanding contribution” to television.

The award will go to the BBC Scotland comedy’s creative team.

It will be presented to writers Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill – who play Jack and Victor – and director Michael Hines at a ceremony in November.

The characters of Jack and Victor first appeared on television in sketch show Chewin’ the Fat, before they were given their own programme in 2002.

‘Unforgettable journey’

The long-running comedy’s final episode – after nine seasons – was aired on the BBC earlier this year.

Still Game: The Final Farewell – a live theatre show at Glasgow’s Hydro – concluded earlier this month.

Director Michael Hines will accept the outstanding contribution to television award with Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill.

He said: “We couldn’t be more delighted or proud to receive this special Bafta Scotland award.

“Still Game has brought us a lot of happiness over these past twenty-two years and it means so much to us to know that it’s made others happy too.

“It’s been an incredible, unforgettable journey and this award has helped to make it a really special end.”

Image copyright
BAFTA Scotland

Image caption

Pat Rambaut is to be recognised for her illustrious career as a script supervisor

Meanwhile, script supervisor Pat Rambaut will be presented with an award for her outstanding contribution to her craft.

Ms Rambaut started her career on The New Avengers with Joanna Lumley, and has since worked on productions including Bill Forsyth’s Local Hero and Bridget Jones’ Diary.

Jude MacLaverty, of BAFTA Scotland, said the recipients of this year’s Outstanding Contribution Awards were “truly exceptional”.

“The creative team behind Still Game, and Pat Rambaut, have created work that is not only recognised by their peers and the public, but also inspires future generations of film and television makers”, she added.

The ceremony will take place at Glasgow’s DoubleTree by Hilton and will be hosted by Edith Bowman.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *